What is SDLC – Software Development Life Cycle

SDLC – Software Development Life Cycle

SDLC: Software development life cycle which used to produce the better quality of the system they should meet the requirement of the user or customer’s expectations and reach the completion time and estimates. The software development life cycle is a process that is used in industrial software to design and test high-quality software. It is also called the software development process. It is a framework that defines each step of the task that is performed in the software development life cycle.


Definition of SDLC:

The software development life cycle is consists of a detailed plan describing how to define, develop, maintain, replace, and testing of the software. This life cycle is used to define the methodology to improve the quality of the software and produce a better quality of the software. So the software development life cycle has contained six phases and these phases are given below…

  • Planning
  • Analysis
  • Designing
  • Development / Implementation
  • Testing
  • Maintenance



In which the SDLC the Requirement planning is the first phase of the software development life cycle and most important. In the process of planning the development of the software, the process is not complete (meaningless) until the plan is perfect, calculate the strength and weaknesses of the project. “What do we want” in this step the team defines and gathering the requirements of the new software from the client and determine the resource required and cost. It also involves the risk of the detail and creates a software requirement specification document. So the planning phase also includes the following aspect of the project and management.

  • Schedule of the project
  • Planning capacity
  • Cost estimation
  • Resource allocation


Requirements Gathering and Analysis:

After the planning phase, the next phase is requirements is to clearly define the product requirement and get approval from the user or customer to analyze the market. In this phase the main focus of the project manager and meeting with the user are held to determine the requirements of the user like; how the system will be used? What the system should input data from the user? What the system should produce the output?.

The SRS (software requirement specification) is used to generate the document and SRS includes the software, hardware, functional, and performance of the project.



Once the requirement phase is complete then take the next phase is designing which is used to building the architecture of the project. The SRS is used to refer to come out the best architecture of the product that should be developed. In the designing phase, the SRS is used to translate the requirement into logical structural and raw. DDS (Design Document Specification).

So all the components that should need to develop the communication between the third party, database communication and user flow, and the behavior of each component and all the design are kept in the design specification document.


Development / Implementation:

After performing the requirement and designing phase the next phase is implementation. In this phase, the actual development of the SDLC is started. According to the requirement, the developer starts the coding and design that are discussed in the previous phase. If the design is performed in detail and then organize the manners and code generation can be accomplished. Different programming languages are used to implement the project such as C++, Java, Pascal and PHP, and others for coding.



After performing the design and implementation phase then the next phase is taken as testing. In the testing phase, the tester test the develop the software that is against the customer requirements. So the aims of the tester to find the bug or error in the development system and properly verify whether the application work according to the user requirements. So this process is repeated until all requirements have been tested and all the bugs or errors are fixed and finally, the software or application is ready.



After the testing, the phase the product has been ready to deploy and properly released in the market. Sometimes the product has been deployed as a business organization and released product first time in limited segments and also tested in the business environment and time to time to manage the product. So all the process is done then the product release in the market and maintenance is done for the existing customers and improves customer efficiency.


SDLC Models

The software development life cycle defines the various SDLC models and these design that is followed by the software development life cycle process.

  • Iterative Model
  • Spiral Model
  • Waterfall Model
  • V-Model
  • Incremental Approach Model
  • Big Bang Model
  • Agile Model
  • RAD Mode
  • Rapid Application

Software development life cycle



NCERT-NOTES Class 6 to 12.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button